Alexander Wang as head designer at Balenciaga: OMG!!

A while ago I blogged about Alexander Wang copying Tufi and now he’s gonna be the head designer of Balenciaga… Management of PPR must be on some bad drugs.

Nicholas Ghesquiere has been the designer at Balenciaga for 15 years and has sculpted the brand to what it is today. Now Alexander Wang is going to take over. As you might now, I’m not too fond of change, especially head designers at labels that I love.

Why did they choose Alexander Wang as head designer of Balenciaga? Guess they picked Alexander Wang because he’s asian and Asia is where the money is. Jason Wu’s work is probably too romantic to fit Balenciaga’s image. So Alexander was left.

Let’s hope for the best, I’ll keep my fingers crossed and my eyes wide open to see what’s gonna become of Balenciaga. Maybe he can copy some of Balenciaga’s old stuff :p

Ps. People are already saying that they will stop buying Balenciaga when Alexander Wang’s gonna rule the throne. Just sharing some thoughts here…

2 responses to “Alexander Wang as head designer at Balenciaga: OMG!!

  1. “Guess they picked Alexander Wang because he’s asian and Asia is where the money is.”

    lol that was my reasoning at first but that’d be a foolish tact on PPR’s part. I’m sure they believe he’s talented. I’m not a big fan of Alexander Wang myself. I can see how his last collection fits with Ghesquiere’s/Balenciaga’s aesthetic, but as you pointed out, that collection wasn’t really Wang’s original idea.

    • Those companies always think in terms of sales. Their strategy is to sell as much as possible and give their brand a face that appeals to their (target) market. Chinese/Asian people are the force that keeps the luxury brands alive. And I have to agree with you that design wise, he would come close. But he hasn’t been around that long and is already copying other people’s stuff. How could he fill Ghesquiere’s shoes?

Leave a Reply

